Towing with a Fortuner Crusade 2019 2.8d

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Towing with a Fortuner Crusade 2019 2.8d

Hi I’m new to this forum and are waiting for my new Cursade to arrive.
    I have a Ford Teritory AWD diesel which will be traded and Tow a 2100kg loaded tandem 20foot van .
    They are similar in torque 440nm for the Ford and Toyota Fortuner 450nm
    so probable a bit late now but what are they like towing a similar van to ours?
    hopping there a great tow vehicle?
    Cheers Goodi
    Last edited by Goodi; 04-03-2019, 12:43 AM.

Is there a recommended run in period for the Fortuner before hooking up a van . Being a retired Mechanic I was thinking 1500km would be a good starting point.

Comment

Goodi,
      I purchased my Fortuner GLX back in November and towed my Coromal 502 from Sydney to Gold Coast and return, I previously had a 2006 RWD petrol Territory which pulled the van effortlessly. The Coromal is only 1360 Kg ATM so the Fortuner towed it relatively easily most of the time. The Fortuner did seem to loose momentum quickly when climbing hills so needs to be dropped down a gear or two, paddle shift makes this very easy, I occasionally selected the 'POWER' mode which provided a very responsive climb of any hills. I am looking at upgrading to a heavier 4WD caravan also at around 2500kg so am also keen to see how a heavier van is pulled by the Fortuner. I average about 8.2/8.4 Litres per 100 klm between Windsor and Penrith and even up to Broke via St Albans and return along Putty Road. When towing the van during XMAS averaged about 15L per 100klms, normally sitting on the 100 kph on the open roads.
      Main disappointment for me was that I always seemed to only be able to use about 60 litres of the 80 litre tank.
      Regards,
      Tod.

Comment

• Goodi
        Goodi commented
        Editing a comment