Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hilux Moose Test - Real or Rigged?

Hi Guys,

I am sure some of you have seen this by now. Supposedly the Lux is pretty bad for directional stability and hence this may transfer to the Fortuner. But something is bugging me about this video. To me it just seems that the Hilux has been swung just that much further on the course and the tyres almost look under inflated as well.

Also, the faster something is travelling in a straight line i.e. all of the vehicles the more straight line momentum it should theoretically have...

Anyway, have a look and see for yourself, whether it is real or not it needs to be mentioned due to the similarities between the Fortuner and the Hilux.
    Fortuner Forum Default Signature!

I'm no engineer, but several factors should be considered, although I've not checked. Just me talking off the top of my head...

Tyre size ie 16" or 18" & air pressure in each car tested; tyre width eg are they all say 265s or are some 285s; width of each car itself- the wider the car the more stable shifting side to side; severity of the way in which the driver turns the steering wheel, & whether its the same turn ratio in each car driven, eg quarter turn as opposed to half a turn, will result in more sideways movement; weight of each vehicle.

The Fortuner is the first Toyota I've had, previous were GU Patrol & Pajero, & 20-ish years in 4x4s. This is the first time I've been made aware of any 4x4 listing this much.

Sorry, but I'm a bit of a sceptic at the moment. Would love to know if there's any real roll-over stats out there held by either respective police forces or insurance companies!

Comment

doesnt the Hilux use rear leaf springs ? would that alone make a difference. Personally i dont believe the test , maybe as Anthony says the driver purposely made more aggressive movements in the Hilux than he did in the other cars?