What type of diesel do you use?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What type of diesel do you use?

Okay - I couldn't find this thread on the forum, but it's gotta be there somewhere.

So, I'm new to the Fortuner. What grade of diesel do you owners and drivers recommend? Should I just stick with the cheapest (bog standard) I can find or do I go for the gucci premium diesel fuels?

Over to the brains behinds the blogs!

i use whatever is around ,providing the servo has a reasonable turnover and fresh loads. Living in a regional area i dont have much choice anyway. although we have 4 "branded" outlets the fuel is delivered by only 1 or 2 trucks so there is no difference anyways. I have used premium mixes in the past and found no difference in performance so cannot justify the extra cost. I have a 30 micron prefilter and check it quite often and have had small amounts of water show up in any fuel so stopping that is more important really.
    2016 GX , in White

Comment

Preferably one not contaminated with water or dirt..
      all diesel fuel must be within a range of a specific Cetane rating. Higher the Cetane better ignition quality.
      some fuel companies have an overall higher rating across the board than others.
      personally I like BP but will use Shell or Mobile too.

Comment

I was told by the truck driver who delivered mine to only ever use Caltex Vortex. Unless I am remote I use that or BP Ultimate, occasionally Mobil.

Comment

I use BP as does my son. We're no experts & stand to be corrected, but both think we get better mileage with BP & the cars seem to run better.

That said, when on trips there aren't many BP servos around & then go for either Caltex or Shell, followed by whatever's available.

Comment