Hooking up to battery.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hooking up to battery.

This is my first new/modern vehicle & I'm a bit paranoid about hooking up my air compressor to the battery with alligator clips.

I've read that you hook the positive straight to the terminal (would the nut right next to it be sufficient?)
    The negative shouldn't be hooked up to the terminal? (would the nut right next to be sufficient? See photos)
    But hooked up to a bolt that is near the battery that is earthed to the body?

The bolt that the battery earth's to is almost inaccessible as are most of the others near the battery.

Any help would be much appreciated, I don't want to burn anything out.

First of all, I am not an electrician...

I think the risk you are referring to is a spark igniting vented gas from the battery (which can then explode) and is not related to the type of vehicle or its electronics.
    This a genuine risk when attaching jumper leads from another vehicle as there *will* be a spark when attaching the final cable.

I'm not aware that this is a problem when attaching a compressor. Everyone I know (myself included) go straight to the terminals. Maybe someone else knows better?

In any case, I cant see how this advice would have anything to do with the type/age of vehicle. Attaching the negative clip to another ground shouldn't make any difference as far as the cars electrical system is concerned.

Dave

Comment

Originally posted by DaveC View Post
      First of all, I am not an electrician...

I think the risk you are referring to is a spark igniting vented gas from the battery (which can then explode) and is not related to the type of vehicle or its electronics.
      This a genuine risk when attaching jumper leads from another vehicle as there *will* be a spark when attaching the final cable.