Why dual batteries

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why dual batteries

I am being made redundant and the wife says lets buy a fortuner !

So I am new to the world of dual batteries. Why/do would I need dual batteries?

Hi Two89w and welcome to the forum!

Your wife has the best attitude ever!

The main reason to get a dual battery system is to run your extra devices when out camping. So for example, if you had a fridge or extra lighting you could run it off the second battery overnight which could be isolated out from your main battery, depending on how you have set it up. This gives you a fresh battery to start up in the morning instead of a flat one which could range from annoying to life threatening depending on where you are...

Again various levels of complexity with those as well
    Fortuner Forum Default Signature!

Comment

Yup, What Shaun said. Depending on the setup, the second battery can be of a different design eg a deep cycle. These are designed to provide a smaller amount of power but for a longer time, where a normal crank batttery does large amounts for short time. Deep cycles can also be discharged by a greater amount than normal batteries. It all comes down to what you want from the car. If you plan on camping/touring with fridges and want to be self sufficient, run a 2nd battery, possibly with a solar panel so you can be charging while not driving. If you are planning to be travelling to places with power then its not worth the hassle.