Intake carbon clean

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intake carbon clean

So I'm pretty new to turbo diesel engines, and want to get some advice on something that was offered to me via my last service at a Toyota dealer. They suggested an "Intake carbon clean". I delved a bit more on what it actually was, and from what I could understand it was just Liquimoly Diesel Engine Intake Decarb or similar sprayed into the intake.

Is it something that should be performed? Does it assist with the removal of residue/carbon etc? How effective is it?

If someome with some actual knowledge on the subject could help me out, that would be tops.

Thanks in advance
    RJS
    DIESEL ENGINE INTAKE DECARB | 3029 CLEANS & DECARBONISES ENGINE INTAKE AND UPPER CYLINDER • Remove contamination with minimal dismantling. • Pro-strength formula breaks down carbon and oil residues. • Restores engine power & performance. Liqui-Moly Diesel Engine Intake Decarb is a

I did mine with Toyota supplied intake cleaner after about 60000 kms and nothing came out the back.
    What you will find is less build up if any on newer models due to better oil and more cooled EGR.
    still worthwhile to do for piece of mind. However get it from Toyota because not sure if what you have will not contaminate the cat.
    just my thoughts....

Comment

Originally posted by Spook1205 View Post
      I did mine with Toyota supplied intake cleaner after about 60000 kms and nothing came out the back.
      thats because your DPF caught all the soot !!

actually it would be good to peek into our EGR system sometime to see how clean or dirty it is. I know on the 1KDs it can be really bad after 70,000klm and needs to be cleaned out manually

2016 GX , in White

Comment

does an oil catch can fix that problem or just prolong it?

Comment