Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electric tailgate motor failty on Crusade

Hi Guys

Just had my Toyota Fortuner Crusade repaired under warranty, one of the electric motors seized causing tail gate to twist, bending boot hinge, creasing roof and tail gate.
    Had to wait 4 weeks until parts come from overseas. boot alignment is never the same. Been back twice, they can't do anymore.

Last edited by Lozza; 10-02-2018, 08:49 PM.

sounds bad , are toyota going to repair any further ? is the opening out of square ? that will need some body realigning if thats the case cos it may not be water or dust proof any longer
    2016 GX , in White

Comment

If the roof has creased I'm fairly sure Toyota are liable for a full repair, if not a replacement car. I'm no expert, but if the roof has been creased, then maybe the integrity of the roof structure & therefore the vehicle itself, has also been compromised. (Others with more knowledge about such things may be able to assist you). Another issue, is if / when you're off-road, who's to say any bouncing around over corrugations or other lumps & bumps won't further damage the roof, even if Toyota do repair it? Would you then need an engineer's report stating all's well with the car's structural integrity?

Toyota's faulty motor product caused a roof crease, & if it were my car, I'd be going to the ACCC, Fair Trading, the Newspapers & anywhere else to get Toyota to give me a new or like aged & conditioned Crusade as a replacement to show "their good will in standing behind their product".

With all this in mind, is the car really "fit for its original purpose", being for use off-road? Good luck with it & please keep us posted via the Forum.

Comment

• Lozza
        Lozza commented
        Editing a comment
        I'm doing through Fair trading the car had overspray outside and inside, car boot alignment still out and they creased the roof liner when they replaced the hedges.