Collapse
No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Finding this forum useful and entertaining. We have a late 2017 Crusade and intend using it for camping and beach trips. Thoroughly enjoying it, but have only been camping once due to silly season. Have a roof pod to help with the camping gear. Don't intend to get stuck (!) But am a little concerned by the recovery point issue mentioned in the forum. Cheers.

Welcome aboard mate,
    the recovery issue really I believe comes down to what you are comfortable with.
    a rated point you know is good for said limit. What Toyota have built in is pretty heavy and is pinned and welded, it’s just we don’t know it’s rating. Although I couldn’t tell you the forces put on recovery gear anyhow, I am not an engineer and have never researched the topic.
    But the mechanic that I am says if you rip this out you have pretty much stuffed the front of your chassis and that will be no easy thing to do.
    Recovery points do look good though!

Comment

and if you want to use the factory points and feel better about it just use a equaliser / bridle strap , which spreads the load amongst the 2
      2016 GX , in White

Comment

Moffat95; You don't mention if you have or are getting a bull bar, but if you do, you won't have any probs getting recovery points to suit. For example, ARB's bull bar will happily accommodate their own recovery points. I'm sure Opposite Lock & Iron Man also do likewise.

If your just after recovery points without a bull bar, contact places like ARB to see if their recovery points will fit on the car as is, without going to the expense of getting a bull bar as well.

Road Safe manufacture recovery points & are in Victoria. Troy Schipper is the bloke I dealt with for Fortuner compatible recovery points. Ring & ask if their recovery points will just bolt straight onto the car, without a bull bar. 03 8687 1711

Comment

Thanks people.

Comment